Hall of Fame Inductees

Hall of Fame Gala 2019

Story by: Gerell Lawhorne, Jordan Dove, Janelle GreenStudent Journalists

On Saturday, April 27, Fairfield County School District hosted its annual Hall of Fame Induction Gala at Fairfield Central High School. In 2013, Dr. Green, Superintendent of Fairfield County Schools, launched the Hall of Fame to recognize citizens in the community that made a positive impact. “I was watching TV on a Saturday, while one of the surrounding counties were recognizing citizens of their county who devoted a magnitude of time to the community. I thought that Fairfield County should do something similar to this idea. I went to Jackie Wallace, and she took my idea and ran with it. From that point, we’ve celebrated multiple people who have been tremendously kind-hearted and willing to serve in this community.” The six prestigious citizens that were inducted were: Russell N. Feaster, Sr., Josie G. Gaston, Lloyd J. McGriff, Carolyn P. Pierce (posthumously), John E. Smalls (posthumously), and Gloria B. Thomas. The crowd was joyous after the viewing of the video created by Vincent Frank, Jackie Wallace, and Julianne Neal. The video showcased the stories of each inductee. Entertainment was provided by DaySeven, a local band from Winnsboro, SC. “It’s truly an honor to be recognized by this great district,” was one of the many responses from an inductee when presented with their award. Those in attendance were truly elated with the presentations and would definitely say “it was a night of elegance.”